Guest Reviews

Read What Guests Have to Say About Our Luxurious Downtown Boston Hotel

At The Eliot Hotel, we are committed to providing individualized service with a personal touch. We pride ourselves on our luxurious accommodations, award-winning dining and thoughtful boutique amenities – but you don’t have to take our word for it.

Read what other guests have said about their stay at our elegant Back Bay property.

  • Another great Eliot Hotel Visit

    We had a suite this time that was spacious and accommodated our needs very well. Staff are so courteous and friendly at all times. We had a few special requests that were also followed through in a very timely

    KNarbur
  • Second stay as great as the first

    Had a beautiful suite: quiet, comfortable, clean, roomy. This was my second stay at the Eliot. My first stay was fantastic and this one too. Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean, comfortable, nicely

    Scott C
  • We will definitely return!

    My husband and I stayed at the Eliot Hotel for two nights, from the moment we arrived we were treated to an impeccable room & excellent customer service. We were also upgraded to a suite, which was very

    Lisa B
  • Great boutique hotel with the best staff.

    My room was with a separate living room, which came in very handy as I was travelling with a friend. The beds are very comfortable as everything else was superb. The fact that ice was chilled in the icebucket

    Gundrun B
  • The Eliot Hotel is not only a wonderful hotel, it is a wonderful experience.

    Every detail is considered by the fastidious staff. It is truly a throwback in the sense that personal care and attention is the priority. Add to this the beauty of the building and suites, and the convenient

    DrHomeAway
  • Delightful Stay at the Eliot

    Although short our stay was very pleasant. Friendly and helpful staff and the two bedroom suite we occupied was nicely laid out, well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Wireless was efficient and complimentary.

    Peter S
  • I simply love this hotel and everything about it

    The staff are super friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble, the restaurant UNI is to die for with beautiful food in great surroundings with an awesome vibe, the bar guys where attentive and great for

    Lesley N
  • Any chance I get to visit Boston!

    I stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave! Can I live here permanently? Ha! The staff was always pleasant but not too intruding. They were there to help if you needed them, within minutes! The location

    rubinfam
  • Charm and Comfort

    I've been making the rounds of the older Boston hotels lately and have stumbled on a hidden treasure. Conveniently located at Comm Ave and Mass Ave, its close to dining and shopping on Newbury street, close

    dizzywalk
  • Amazing Service with a fantastic suite and huge bed

    Stayed for three nights in Jan 17. I was already impressed with the service before we even arrived, having emailed them to ask if I could get some items delivered which was no problem. Check in was easy and

    Mraaronjward
  • A gem

    e were back for the 4th time to the Elliot House, every time we had a wonderful stay. Nice and spacious rooms. The bathrooms are small but very clean and well equipped.

    The service was always the

    ChiaraJ
  • “Excellent stay!”

    I very much enjoyed my stay at this property. The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. It felt more like home than a hotel room. The neighborhood is walkable

    BajaGirl70
  • “Quintessential Back Bay”

    Historic hotel in a stately building on Commonwealth Ave at Massachusetts Ave. Easy (~20 min) beautiful stroll to Boston Common/Public Garden along the landscaped Commonwealth Ave boulevard, and similarly postcard-picturesque

    suffolkblueline
  • “What a Gem”

    Classically elegant hotel, perfect location in Back Bay Area of Boston, close to Newberry Street with its shops and restaurants.
    We had a beautifully appointed room, comfortable beds, quality amenities.

    Hunneybear
  • “Perfect Hotel with Perfect Location”

    Comfortable rooms and incredibly polite, attentive staff We stayed there for our 25th anniversary and, when we told them that is why we were in Boston, received both an upgrade to a suite and, on top of that,

    stt56
  • “Exceptional hotel, great location”

    I recently stayed three nights at the Eliot for graduation weekend. My family booked three rooms, and at our request, the Hotel placed us on the same floor. The particular room I stayed in was a one bedroom

    Sharcy
  • Charming and Elegant

    The Eliot Hotel is very charming hotel. You won't be disappointed. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect for us as we were attending the BSO and was a

    kmgray811
  • Another great Eliot Hotel Visit

    We had a suite this time that was spacious and accommodated our needs very well. Staff are so courteous and friendly at all times. We had a few special requests that were also followed through in a very timely and professional manner. We highly recommend the Eliot Hotel to any visitors to Boston and particularly if attending a Red Sox game as Fenway is right around the corner. Lastly we travel with our Golden Doodle dog and the hotel is wonderful for those with pets!

    KNarbur, USA May 01, 2017
  • Second stay as great as the first

    Had a beautiful suite: quiet, comfortable, clean, roomy. This was my second stay at the Eliot. My first stay was fantastic and this one too. Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean, comfortable, nicely furnished rooms, and an amazing restaurant. And since I booked my stay this time about 6 months in advance, I got a very reasonable price too. Couldn't ask for more.

    Scott C, USA May 01, 2017
  • We will definitely return!

    My husband and I stayed at the Eliot Hotel for two nights, from the moment we arrived we were treated to an impeccable room & excellent customer service. We were also upgraded to a suite, which was very comfortable & quiet. Also, did I mention it's very close to shopping & restaurants on Newbury Street? Very pleasant stay, we will definitely return on our next visit to Boston.

    Lisa B, USA Jun 01, 2017
  • Great boutique hotel with the best staff.

    My room was with a separate living room, which came in very handy as I was travelling with a friend. The beds are very comfortable as everything else was superb. The fact that ice was chilled in the icebucket when we came back one day was greatly appreciated. The staff at this hotel went out of their way to be as helpful and friendly, I've never have met greater staff! The restaurant at the hotel is a must to visit.

    Gundrun B, Iceland Apr 01, 2017
  • The Eliot Hotel is not only a wonderful hotel, it is a wonderful experience.

    Every detail is considered by the fastidious staff. It is truly a throwback in the sense that personal care and attention is the priority. Add to this the beauty of the building and suites, and the convenient location and it is the rare occasion in which the smile on your face and general good feeling stays with you long after your stay. I will not stay elsewhere when visiting the Boston area.

    DrHomeAway, USA Apr 01, 2017
  • Delightful Stay at the Eliot

    Although short our stay was very pleasant. Friendly and helpful staff and the two bedroom suite we occupied was nicely laid out, well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Wireless was efficient and complimentary. We dined at the Uni Japanese restaurant which was absolutely superb (separate review on Open Table). All in all a great experience and we would definitely return.

    Peter S, China Mar 01, 2017
  • I simply love this hotel and everything about it

    The staff are super friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble, the restaurant UNI is to die for with beautiful food in great surroundings with an awesome vibe, the bar guys where attentive and great for ideas on drinks if you're not sure what you fancy, and the rooms......well these are fantastic, bigger than my apartment in London with beds that are like sleeping in a cloud.
    Location wise is also great as you are so close to all the different areas of the city which are very easy to walk, and we did it in thick snow.
    All in all, if you are going to Boston, in my view there really is only one hotel to stay in and that's the Eliot, put it this way, I'd rather change the dates of my trip then not be able to stay in this hotel.

    Lesley N, United Kingdom Feb 01, 2017
  • Any chance I get to visit Boston!

    I stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave! Can I live here permanently? Ha! The staff was always pleasant but not too intruding. They were there to help if you needed them, within minutes! The location is perfect for walking, trains, shopping and dining. The vintage charm of this old hotel takes you back in time. It's a quiet and relaxing hotel deserving of 5 stars!

    rubinfam, USA Jan 01, 2017
  • Charm and Comfort

    I've been making the rounds of the older Boston hotels lately and have stumbled on a hidden treasure. Conveniently located at Comm Ave and Mass Ave, its close to dining and shopping on Newbury street, close to BU, MIT, Harvard and the tech companies in Cambridge. The suite layout makes the rooms feel much larger and makes it feel more like staying in a small apartment vs a hotel room. Beds, linens, furniture is comfortable. Design is an older world charm and fits the neighborhood. Will definitely be back.

    dizzywalk, USA Jan 01, 2017
  • Amazing Service with a fantastic suite and huge bed

    Stayed for three nights in Jan 17. I was already impressed with the service before we even arrived, having emailed them to ask if I could get some items delivered which was no problem. Check in was easy and service was great from everyone at check in to doorman. Cab from the airport was just over $30. Location is away from downtown but still a great location and close to prudential centre with nearby bars and restaurants. We didn't use UNI restaurant so couldn't comment! Stayed in a suite which was great, plenty of room and huge bed. Bathroom was big and suite also had a small kitchen area with a mini bar, which prices are really reasonable, $4 for a beer! 
    Great stay and excellent service. Would recommend and stay again!

    Mraaronjward, United Kingdom Jan 01, 2017
  • A gem

    e were back for the 4th time to the Elliot House, every time we had a wonderful stay. Nice and spacious rooms. The bathrooms are small but very clean and well equipped.

    The service was always the best. We felt most welcomed and best taken care of by the staffs from doormen to receptionists and the housekeepers. This time we booked a two bedroom suite for our family of four, then we sent the kids back to school and only two of us for the last night so I opted for a small double room. They asked me if I would like them to keep the room in the suite I had and just closed the connecting room door to the suite. That was really thoughtful and made such a difference. 

    I traveled at least 5 trips each year for the past 15 years, the Elliot House Boston was the first one to offer such an extra and caring service. Thank you guys. You will definitely see us again.

    ChiaraJ, Thailand Nov 01, 2016
  • “Excellent stay!”

    I very much enjoyed my stay at this property. The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. It felt more like home than a hotel room. The neighborhood is walkable and safe with shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay at this property again.

    BajaGirl70, Webster, NY Jun 01, 2016
  • “Quintessential Back Bay”

    Historic hotel in a stately building on Commonwealth Ave at Massachusetts Ave. Easy (~20 min) beautiful stroll to Boston Common/Public Garden along the landscaped Commonwealth Ave boulevard, and similarly postcard-picturesque stroll over the Mass Ave bridge to Cambridge (MIT and Harvard beyond) along Mass Ave. Rooms are beautifully maintained (seem newly renovated) and spacious, no squeaky floors or peeling wallpaper - the condition is what you would expect in a much more modern building. Historical touches abound, however, such as a "real" metal key (not key card) and uniformed, courteous staff who are cheerful without being intimidatingly hip! Overall a fantastic experience.

    suffolkblueline, Honolulu Jun 01, 2016
  • “What a Gem”

    Classically elegant hotel, perfect location in Back Bay Area of Boston, close to Newberry Street with its shops and restaurants.
    We had a beautifully appointed room, comfortable beds, quality amenities.
    Staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful during our stay......nothing was too much trouble.
    It became our home away from home during our stay.

    Hunneybear, Sydney, Australia May 01, 2016
  • “Perfect Hotel with Perfect Location”

    Comfortable rooms and incredibly polite, attentive staff We stayed there for our 25th anniversary and, when we told them that is why we were in Boston, received both an upgrade to a suite and, on top of that, a platter of cookies with fresh fruit was delivered to our room.

    stt56, Irvington, NY May 01, 2016
  • “Exceptional hotel, great location”

    I recently stayed three nights at the Eliot for graduation weekend. My family booked three rooms, and at our request, the Hotel placed us on the same floor. The particular room I stayed in was a one bedroom suite with two double beds and a sofa bed. The room was clean and spacious. The mattresses were not as firm as what we usually prefer but we slept comfortably. The air conditioning worked well. It was nice to relax in the sitting area, though the space could have used more light (perhaps higher wattage bulbs for the lamps or the ability to change light settings). Other reviewers mentioned the small bathrooms but I thought the size was sufficient and the shower was relaxing. I especially liked the rosemary mint bath products. Each day, complimentary double chocolate chip cookies were left in our room. The cookies were the most delicious amenity ever--I would purchase them if I could! My niece has food allergies, and room service was able to prepare meals for her. The food and service at UNI was excellent when we dined there for breakfast. The hotel staff was professional and helpful throughout our stay. My sister communicated with the staff several times prior to check-in, and she commented that no request was too much trouble for the staff. Overall, we felt very well taken care of at the Eliot, and I highly recommend the Hotel.

    Sharcy, Philadelphia May 01, 2016
  • Charming and Elegant

    The Eliot Hotel is very charming hotel. You won't be disappointed. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect for us as we were attending the BSO and was a short walk. We loved our stay and will be returning. The cookies on our arrival was a nice treat!

    kmgray811, New York Mar 01, 2016