Guest Reviews

Read What Guests Have to Say About Our Luxurious Downtown Boston Hotel

At The Eliot Hotel, we are committed to providing individualized service with a personal touch. We pride ourselves on our luxurious accommodations, award-winning dining and thoughtful boutique amenities – but you don’t have to take our word for it.

Read what other guests have said about their stay at our elegant Back Bay property.

  • “Excellent stay!”

    I very much enjoyed my stay at this property. The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. It felt more like home than a hotel room. The neighborhood is walkable

    BajaGirl70
  • “Quintessential Back Bay”

    Historic hotel in a stately building on Commonwealth Ave at Massachusetts Ave. Easy (~20 min) beautiful stroll to Boston Common/Public Garden along the landscaped Commonwealth Ave boulevard, and similarly postcard-picturesque

    suffolkblueline
  • “What a Gem”

    Classically elegant hotel, perfect location in Back Bay Area of Boston, close to Newberry Street with its shops and restaurants.
    We had a beautifully appointed room, comfortable beds, quality amenities.

    Hunneybear
  • “Perfect Hotel with Perfect Location”

    Comfortable rooms and incredibly polite, attentive staff We stayed there for our 25th anniversary and, when we told them that is why we were in Boston, received both an upgrade to a suite and, on top of that,

    stt56
  • “Exceptional hotel, great location”

    I recently stayed three nights at the Eliot for graduation weekend. My family booked three rooms, and at our request, the Hotel placed us on the same floor. The particular room I stayed in was a one bedroom

    Sharcy
  • Charming and Elegant

    The Eliot Hotel is very charming hotel. You won't be disappointed. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect for us as we were attending the BSO and was a

    kmgray811
  • Where Style Meets Comfort

    The Eliot Hotel is by far the most charming hotel in Boston. From the stylish old-fashioned (yet clean) lobby to the beautifully designed rooms (which are flawless) this may be the best hotel in Boston. Located

    NickF
  • Elegance and luxury

    The Eliot is a very special hotel; it's where you stay when you want to feel pampered, but exclusive. It's not a big, loud, business hotel; it's a quiet, tasteful, exclusive boutique hostelry that makes you

    ahberes
  • Wonderful Service, Location, Environment

    Loved our stay at The Eliot. Lovely rooms, excellent service, perfect location. Walked or Uber'd everywhere! Breakfast options were great. Our family of 4 had plenty of charming, elegant, cozy space. Will absolutely

    DinaSeattle
  • Perfect stay & location!

    Stop reading and go. The staff are great, cannot say enough good things about them. All the little things are looked after and they care about you and your stay. 
    Manny went above and beyond, thank you

    TeeB
  • Friendliest Hotel - The Customer Comes First for Sure

    What sets the Eliot Hotel apart is its service. Believe all the reviews telling you about the doormen, bell hops and other staff at the Eliot -if they can help you in any way they will! We visited over a busy

    maryc5249
  • Fantastic friendly boutique hotel

    We stayed here for three nights on a family holiday and the staff were so friendly and couldn't help enough with restaurant recommendations & reservations, directions to attractions, shopping etc. We felt

    JulietD
  • “Excellent stay!”

    I very much enjoyed my stay at this property. The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. It felt more like home than a hotel room. The neighborhood is walkable and safe with shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay at this property again.

    BajaGirl70, Webster, NY Jun 01, 2016
  • “Quintessential Back Bay”

    Historic hotel in a stately building on Commonwealth Ave at Massachusetts Ave. Easy (~20 min) beautiful stroll to Boston Common/Public Garden along the landscaped Commonwealth Ave boulevard, and similarly postcard-picturesque stroll over the Mass Ave bridge to Cambridge (MIT and Harvard beyond) along Mass Ave. Rooms are beautifully maintained (seem newly renovated) and spacious, no squeaky floors or peeling wallpaper - the condition is what you would expect in a much more modern building. Historical touches abound, however, such as a "real" metal key (not key card) and uniformed, courteous staff who are cheerful without being intimidatingly hip! Overall a fantastic experience.

    suffolkblueline, Honolulu Jun 01, 2016
  • “What a Gem”

    Classically elegant hotel, perfect location in Back Bay Area of Boston, close to Newberry Street with its shops and restaurants.
    We had a beautifully appointed room, comfortable beds, quality amenities.
    Staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful during our stay......nothing was too much trouble.
    It became our home away from home during our stay.

    Hunneybear, Sydney, Australia May 01, 2016
  • “Perfect Hotel with Perfect Location”

    Comfortable rooms and incredibly polite, attentive staff We stayed there for our 25th anniversary and, when we told them that is why we were in Boston, received both an upgrade to a suite and, on top of that, a platter of cookies with fresh fruit was delivered to our room.

    stt56, Irvington, NY May 01, 2016
  • “Exceptional hotel, great location”

    I recently stayed three nights at the Eliot for graduation weekend. My family booked three rooms, and at our request, the Hotel placed us on the same floor. The particular room I stayed in was a one bedroom suite with two double beds and a sofa bed. The room was clean and spacious. The mattresses were not as firm as what we usually prefer but we slept comfortably. The air conditioning worked well. It was nice to relax in the sitting area, though the space could have used more light (perhaps higher wattage bulbs for the lamps or the ability to change light settings). Other reviewers mentioned the small bathrooms but I thought the size was sufficient and the shower was relaxing. I especially liked the rosemary mint bath products. Each day, complimentary double chocolate chip cookies were left in our room. The cookies were the most delicious amenity ever--I would purchase them if I could! My niece has food allergies, and room service was able to prepare meals for her. The food and service at UNI was excellent when we dined there for breakfast. The hotel staff was professional and helpful throughout our stay. My sister communicated with the staff several times prior to check-in, and she commented that no request was too much trouble for the staff. Overall, we felt very well taken care of at the Eliot, and I highly recommend the Hotel.

    Sharcy, Philadelphia May 01, 2016
  • Charming and Elegant

    The Eliot Hotel is very charming hotel. You won't be disappointed. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect for us as we were attending the BSO and was a short walk. We loved our stay and will be returning. The cookies on our arrival was a nice treat!

    kmgray811, New York Mar 01, 2016
  • Where Style Meets Comfort

    The Eliot Hotel is by far the most charming hotel in Boston. From the stylish old-fashioned (yet clean) lobby to the beautifully designed rooms (which are flawless) this may be the best hotel in Boston. Located in the fabulous back bay neighborhood of Boston, the hotel is central to almost everything from Fenway Park to Faneuil Hall. If you are staying in Boston for any length of time, I highly recommend the Eliot Hotel.

    NickF, Cape Cod, MA Feb 01, 2016
  • Elegance and luxury

    The Eliot is a very special hotel; it's where you stay when you want to feel pampered, but exclusive. It's not a big, loud, business hotel; it's a quiet, tasteful, exclusive boutique hostelry that makes you feel like one of a select few who have the good taste to stay there. The furnishings are classic and beautiful, and the service is superb. It does the little touches, like fresh-baked cookies on arrival, that make it different. My husband and I have stayed on several occasions when visiting our son at the Boston Conservatory and we love it. We have been upgraded to a suite twice now, and they are so lovely--spacious and unbelievably comfortable, with a separate king bedroom, sitting room and wet bar area, and a full bar fridge (a rarity these days). There isn't much in the way of a view, but the delightful room compensates. The staff are always polite and very helpful, and the location in the heart of Back Bay is perfect. It's across Mass Ave from the Hynes Convention Center T stop, on the corner of leafy Commonwealth Ave, and an easy walk to anywhere you might want to be in the most charming, artsy and fashionable area of Boston. The breakfast at their restaurant, Uno, is excellent but pricey; we prefer to go to Pavement Cafe on Boylston with our son and all the Boco and Berklee students, or one of many terrific cafes on nearby Newbury street.

    ahberes, St. Louis Feb 01, 2016
  • Wonderful Service, Location, Environment

    Loved our stay at The Eliot. Lovely rooms, excellent service, perfect location. Walked or Uber'd everywhere! Breakfast options were great. Our family of 4 had plenty of charming, elegant, cozy space. Will absolutely stay again.

    DinaSeattle, Washington Feb 01, 2016
  • Perfect stay & location!

    Stop reading and go. The staff are great, cannot say enough good things about them. All the little things are looked after and they care about you and your stay. 
    Manny went above and beyond, thank you to him & the rest of the team there! 
    The location is perfect, clean, quiet and the attention to detail is obvious. 
    Everything you want to do on that side of Boston is within walking distance, everything else is short drive away.

    TeeB, Boston Sep 01, 2015
  • Friendliest Hotel - The Customer Comes First for Sure

    What sets the Eliot Hotel apart is its service. Believe all the reviews telling you about the doormen, bell hops and other staff at the Eliot -if they can help you in any way they will! We visited over a busy weekend with lots of "moving in" college families coming and going. Everyone was calm, cheerful and rolled with the suitcases, bags, trunks, etc. That luxury "aura" stayed in tact for all guests, even those of us not involved in Boston's college scene. 

    The hotel's location is super. . . we never even needed to take the T, just walked the city. Rooms are elegant, bedding was great, and having a separate seating area in the suite was a plus. Some outdoor space would be the only missing element for this property . . . We hope to come again.

    maryc5249, Williamsburg, Virginia Sep 01, 2015
  • Fantastic friendly boutique hotel

    We stayed here for three nights on a family holiday and the staff were so friendly and couldn't help enough with restaurant recommendations & reservations, directions to attractions, shopping etc. We felt the hotel provided a great personal touch which often the larger chain groups fail to achieve. Its In a great location within walking distance to most places in the city, but especially restaurants and shops. We were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise & the accommodation was fab. We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Boston.

    JulietD, United Kingdom Sep 01, 2015